As we move into Week 9 of the Autumn Term, we catch up with another of our graduates, Chris Pover, who graduated with a first class degree in German and Economics, including a distinction in spoken German.

I am currently in my first year of the three-year Grant Thornton Business Advisory Graduate programme. I studied German and Economics at the University of Liverpool, and whilst my degree choice was suited to the graduate scheme, I genuinely believe that it was my year abroad experience that gave me an edge over other candidates in the application process.

For my year abroad, I chose to do a business analytics internship for Atos, an IT company based in Munich, and the transferable skills I gained throughout the year were invaluable to me, both professionally and personally. I was able to experience life in the field of work of my choice before finishing my education, something many graduates aren’t able to include on their CV. I am also very grateful to have worked closely with others in an international team, where I was able to learn a lot from my colleagues’ different experiences.

Munich is a bustling city with lots going on, so meeting people my age wasn’t too difficult. I found a group of friends with whom I watched the legendary Bayern München play (and win of course) at the Allianz Arena, I explored the Bavarian countryside and some of Austria, visited many a beer hall and, of course, dressed in Lederhosen for Oktoberfest!

My year abroad was certainly one of the most challenging yet most enjoyable years of my life so far, and I would do it again in an instant. I met friends from all over the world with whom I spent a year having fun, and when paired with my time as an intern at Atos and my education from Liverpool, I felt confident to begin the graduate program with Grant Thornton.

chris-pover

Chris at the Allianz Arena (watching TSV 1860 München on this occasion)

