Tags

,

You’ve met our new languages assistants in French, German and Italian. Today, we introduce our three new colleagues in Spanish, Rafael Morillo, Marina Zamora and Raquel Gómez, who will be contributing to Spanish language teaching at all levels.

Rafael

I have just finished an MA in Education, having previously completed a degree in English Studies and Literature, both at the University of Sevilla. I am currently enjoying the great opportunity I received from the University of Liverpool, which has provided me with my first experience as a university language tutor. I believe that education is the main foundation of any given society, and I am glad to be part of such a vibrant department.

From the very first time I visited Liverpool two years ago, I felt perfectly at home in this city. I love the atmosphere in the city centre and I especially love a peaceful walk along the docks. During my time here, I want to develop my skills and knowledge as a teacher of my mother tongue, as well as learn more about a city that wins your heart and surrounds you with a magical atmosphere of music and history.

Marina

I completed a degree in Hispanic Studies at the University of Salamanca in 2013 and, since then, I have completed two postgraduate diplomas: one of them also at the University of Salamanca in teaching Spanish literature and language in high schools (for native Spanish speakers), and the other one in teaching Spanish as a foreign language at the University of Sevilla.

From 2014-15, I had the chance to work as a language assistant in a sixth form college in Manchester for a year. It was a great experience that made me discover my interest in teaching my own language. I see the opportunity of teaching at the University of Liverpool as an essential new experience in my training,  as well as a chance to help improve my English and to explore this exciting and vibrant city.

Raquel

I am 24 years old and originally from Barcelona, although I moved to Galicia at the age of 14. Due to this fact, I have had the chance not only to learn two beautiful languages, Catalan and Galician, but also to broaden my knowledge of the different cultures that can be found in Spain.

In 2014, I graduated from the University of Santiago de Compostela with a degree in English Language and Literature and, last year, I decided to apply for the position of Lectora de español at the University of Liverpool as I knew it would be an enriching experience. This is a great opportunity to enhance my teaching abilities and improve my linguistic skills, whilst getting to know more about British culture.

rafa-marina-y-raquel

