Tags

French and German are not the only two language sections to see the arrival of new members of staff this academic year. Today, we welcome Federica Sturani, who has returned to the University of Liverpool to teach Italian.

I am delighted to rejoin MLC, and to become part of such a dynamic team in Italian, which was awarded a 100% student satisfaction rate in the most recent NSS. I hope that my contribution to the team will help to maintain such a high standard!

italian-tutor

Federica’s new publication, Italian Tutor: Grammar and Vocabulary Workbook

I am returning to the University of Liverpool after 3 years, during which I have been involved in different projects, including a collaboration with local primary and secondary schools on the teaching of Italian, and a new Italian workbook, published by Hodder & Stoughton and entitled Italian Tutor: Grammar and Vocabulary Workbook. The text was published in April 2016 and is a grammar workbook aimed at post-beginners and intermediate learners. The main idea behind the project was to fill a gap in current learning resources for intermediate students of Italian, a stage in language acquisition that is particularly difficult to target. This explains the relative paucity of textbooks building up on basic competencies, and I hope that Italian Tutor will be welcomed by all teachers as a stepping stone towards mastering Italian.

fede-oct-16-2

Benvenuto Federica!

I love teaching Italian, and this will be my main contribution to the team this year. However, I will also be involved in a number of events and projects aimed at providing extra-curricular opportunities for students of Italian. Language acquisition is central to what we do in the Department, but fluency in languages other than English allows our students to access culturally fascinating worlds which add novel perspectives on the human experience. I believe that a passion for other languages and cultures should be fostered early on in life and cultivated over the years, and so I am keen to use my experience to support activities such as liaising with schools and other outreach events.

Buon anno accademico a tutti!

