Tags

,

Having introduced our new French Language Assistants, Maxime and Estelle, earlier this week, today we meet Melanie Staudinger, who will be working with students of German in all years to improve their language and communciation skills.

staudinger-melanie

Willkommen Melanie!

To introduce myself, I am 22 years old and grew up in the Salzkammergut area of Austria, which is famous for its 76 lakes. I studied in Vienna and graduated in June this year from the University College of Teacher Education, reading English, Geography and Economics. As English is my main subject, I chose to come and work in the UK for a while before I go back to Austria to teach at secondary level. I have never been to Liverpool before, but I am already starting to love this port city. I grew up close to Lake Attersee, so I’m pleased to be living close to the sea now. I look forward to getting to know the people of Liverpool and the city of The Beatles. I have a real love of music and I would like to give my students an insight into the contemporary music scene in Austria. There are some really popular bands and musicians at the moment, such as the DJ Parov Stelar, the singer Andreas Gabalier and groups like Bilderbuch and Wanda, who have all become famous in the German-speaking world and have enlivened the Austrian music scene.

In my view, the best way to learn a foreign language is by hearing it and using it as much as possible. I always use the chance to speak English when I’m in the company of English native speakers, and so I will be encouraging my students to take the opportunity to come by my office and chat with me when I’m there. I’m also looking forward to introducing them to the Austrian dialect!

lake-attersee

Lake Attersee

