Graduate Profile: Anna Homa

Recent Liverpool graduate Anna Homa has been in touch to tell us about her experiences of studying in China. Anna graduated in  2011 with a BA in Business Studies and German, where she took courses in Business German Language and German culture in CLAS, as well as in tourism, marketing and business in the University of Liverpool Management School (ULMS). Anna also spent her year abroad – a ‘truly unforgettable year’ – studying at the University of Salzburg in Austria, one of Liverpool’s partner universities in the Erasmus exchange scheme.

Since graduating, Anna won a scholarship to study Chinese Language at Xi’an Jiaotong-Liverpool University in China, an international university run in partnership with the University of Liverpool.  Anna applied for the scholarship through the Confucius Institute at Liverpool, which has long-standing links with the country. Anna tells us more about her experiences:

Anna in China

Anna exploring Xi’an, one of the oldest cities in China, and home to Liverpool’s partner university

‘During my stay in China, I made friends with students from all over the world. There were also many German students here, so I got used to practising using my German daily, which was funny, considering I was in China. The highlight of my China experience was exploring Chinese culture and history. Xi’an alone is perfect for that: it is the former capital of China and  one of the oldest cities in the country, famous for being an eastern terminus of the Silk Road and for the Terracotta Army – a mausoleum of the First Emperor of China.’

Anna on her year abroad in Salzburg

The experience of learning Chinese has also helped to focus Anna’s aspirations for her future career. In Anna’s own words: ‘The language is challenging – that goes without saying. Yet I believe it will be very useful in pursuing my professional career. In the future I would like to work in the luxury sector in Germany, which is currently experiencing a massive influx of Chinese tourists’. Indeed, her hard work in learning German and Chinese seems to have paid off: she has recently won a six-month internship at BMW in Munich, where she will will soon be working in sales and marketing for Asian markets.

Though she has her eyes firmly on the future, Anna also offered some fond reflections on her time at the University of Liverpool: ‘It has been already half a year since I graduated from the University of Liverpool in Business Studies and German, yet it feels as if it were a month ago. I often find myself daydreaming about being back in Liverpool, no matter how rainy it was, or how many books were piling up on my desk,  I always enjoyed my time there. I am very excited at the prospect of my future and I am grateful to the University of Liverpool for preparing me for such challenges in my life.’

Find out more about the Xi’an Jiaotong-Liverpool University here!

